Breaking: Canada announces pre-Olympic tournament rosters

Yikes. This roster is a “who’s who” of NHL has beens and busts…

Share on Facebook

In the wake of recent announcements from the NHL where they have reiterated that the NHL will not be participating in the upcoming 2018 Winter Olympic Games, Hockey Canada has announced its management group, coaching staff and now preliminary rosters for the South Korean games.

According to hockey reporter Stephen Whyno of the Associated Press, Hockey Canada will play in two exhibition tournaments with two completely different rosters in order to evaluate talent and make personnel decisions. 

Among the most notable former NHLers:

Gilbert Brule, Mason Raymond, Ben Scrivens, Daniel Paille, Max Talbot, Linden Vey, Andrew Ebbett, Ryan Garbutt, Kevin Klein, Cam Barker, Carlo Colaiacovo and Derek Roy. 

I bet you haven’t heard some of those names in awhile. After reviewing this list of potential Olympians, are you feeling any differently about the NHL’s decision to forgo the games this winter? Because, if this preliminary roster is any indication of the final squad, we’re in for some B level, even C level hockey at the Olympics in 2018.