Bruce Boudreau lays into the refs after he tries to challenge a play and gets denied!

No challenge for you, Bruce!

HockeyFeed
Bruce Boudreau lays into the refs after he tries to challenge a play and gets denied!

In case you missed it, the Minnesota Wild dropped a crucial game against the San Jose Sharks last night, slipping almost completely out of the Wild Card Standings. 

The Wild fell 3-0 to the Sharks, thanks mostly to the strong player of Sharks forward Logan Couture who had a goal and five shots on the evening. It was Couture, as well, who was involved in the most controversial play of the evening. 

Midway through the third period with his team already up by two, Couture was hooked while on a breakaway, drawing a penalty shot call from the officials. Couture came right down Main Street and fired a puck through Devan Dubnyk’s pads to give his team a three goal lead… or did he? Wild head coach Bruce Boudreau called for a Coach’s Challenge on the play that preceded the penalty shot, claiming that Couture was offside.

Does this look onside?



Dicey call, but the refs ruled that Couture had possession of the puck while his foot was still on the blue line. In any case, the play was non-reviewable. Which, of course, sent Boudreau into a manic fit.

Check it out:



I got to say… I’m kind of with Bruce on this one. It’s a close call and, while I’m not a fan of the Coach’s Challenge rule for offsides, a rule is a rule. If a goal is called as a result of a blown call on the ice, it should be reviewable. It may end up that Couture is onside and this is all for nothing, but… shouldn’t they at least review the play?

After the game, Boudreau was understandably still perplexed by the game's officiating: