It was award day for the Flyers today!

Unroll the red carpet!

Share on Facebook

Flyers were playing their last home game this afternoon against the Blue Jackets and they presented their annual team awards to worthy recipients.

Wayne Simmonds was the big winner as he won the Bobby Clark trophy as the team’s MVP of the year. Simmonds scored 30 goals this year, only two goals away from his career high achievement from last season. With 53 points and 122 penalty minutes, the winger had a great first half of season but slowed down a little on his offensive production in the second half. He also won the Toyota Cup, who is given to the player with the most ‘’Stars of the game’’ this season.               

The young rookie Ivan Provorov won the Barry Ashbee award, which goes to the team’s best defencemen. The 7th overall pick in the 2015 draft scored his 7th goal of the season in his last game this year at the Wells Fargo Center. He is the youngest player to win this trophy in the franchise history. The young D-man has a promising future with the team, he who added ‘’We will keep getting better. I will keep getting better.’’

Steven Mason won the Yanick Dupre Class Guy Memorial award, which is given to a player for his service to the community.

Radko Gudas brought home the Pelle Lindbergh Memorial Trophy for the player who improved the most during the season, voted by his fellow players.

Final, the Gene Hart Memorial award was awarded to Pierre-Edouard Bellemare, who demonstrated most ‘’heart’’ during his games this season.

The Flyers will be playing their last game tomorrow against the Hurricanes.