The three finalists for coach of the year have been revealed.

Who will be this year's Jack Adams winner?

Share on Facebook

The National Hockey League has it's three finalists for the Jack Adams Award, effectively the NHL's "Coach of the Year" award.

According to a report form ESPN's Pierre Lebrun, the three coaches who remain in the running are Washington Capitals bench boiss Barry Trotz, Florida Panthers head coach Gerard Gallant and Dallas Stars head coach Lindy Ruff.

It's important to note the ballots have already been cast, so for example Gerard Gallant would not be punished for his team making a quick, and in many ways unexpected, first round playoff exit against the New York Islanders.

There is a conses among pundits that Gallant and Trotz are the two favorites for this award, but the Dallas Stars did have an exceptional season despite relatively shaky goaltending throughout the season, so Ruff's nomination here is certainly a deserved one.