Both Ovechkin and Crosby on the verge of surpassing one of Gretzky’s records

The passing of the torch!

Share on Facebook

Even during the best of times it’s a debate that can divide friends and family. 

Who is the greatest of all-time? Gretzky? Orr? Howe? Lemieux? Gretzky is “The Great One” after all, but Orr changed the game forever. Howe is Mr. Hockey and Lemieux is perhaps the most talented and skilled player to ever lace up a pair of skates.

Where do Crosby and Ovechkin rank in the all-time pantheon? 

Despite what some old-timers might have you believe, current generation superstars like Crosby and Ovechkin are in the conversation amongst the all-time greats. We all know that Ovechkin is taking a solid run at Gretzky’s all-time NHL goal scoring record, but Crosby has now officially joined Ovechkin in pursuit of another one of Gretzky’s records. Redditor UsTinMathHues did some research and discovered that if Crosby and Ovechkin receive Hart Trophy votes for this season (votes, not nominations) it’ll be their 14th season doing so, tying Gretzky. Incidentally, Howe holds the all-time record with 19 seasons.

Check out the all-time rankings:

  1. Gordie Howe - 19
  2. Wayne Gretzky - 14
  3. Alex Ovechkin - 14
  4. Sidney Crosby - 14
  5. Ray Bourque - 12
  6. Martin Brodeur - 12
  7. Jaromir Jagr - 11
  8. Steve Yzerman - 11
  9. Bobby Clarke - 11
  10. Nicklas Lidstrom - 10

It seems likely that Ovechkin will receive some votes, likely even a nomination, once again this season, while Crosby's 41 games played could make it difficult... but are you really going to bet against Sidney Crosby? Not a chance.

Both Ovi and Sid the Kid have a ways to go if they want to catch Mr. Hockey, but don't be surprised if the pair match The Great One's Hart Trophy voting tallies by the end of this season.