Breaking: The Calder Trophy goes to...

The votes are in! Right choice?

Share on Facebook

The first award from the 2019 NHL Awards is in and... drum roll please... your 2019 Calder Trophy winner for rookie of the year goes to... Vancouver Canucks forward Elias Pettersson!

The 20 year old Pettersson becomes the first Canucks rookie since Pavel Bure to win the award and is the second consecutive Canucks player to earn a nomination for the award following Brock Boeser's nomination last year.

The 5th overall pick in the 2017 NHL Entry Draft put up a remarkable 28 goals and 66 points in 71 games with the Canucks this season.