Bruins’ Jim Montgomery makes surprising comments on NHL officiating
Post-game presser  

Bruins’ Jim Montgomery makes surprising comments on NHL officiating

Didn’t see that one coming…

Chris Gosselin

Since the start of the second round match up between the Florida Panthers and Boston Bruins, the spotlight has been on officiating and controversial calls that have been made throughtout the series. Especially in Game 4 when Boston’s loss was met with plenty of controversy, as a game-tying third-period goal from Florida’s Sam Bennett was upheld after being reviewed for goalie interference.

Things were that different on Tuesday night as some Panthers players were doing their absolute best out there to draw calls, but Bruins head coach Jim Montgomery wasn’t buying their act. The coach got quite animated with the officials in the third period, accusing the Panthers of taking dives, especially when Mason Lohrei was sent to the box: Montgomery was looking for the referees to add an embellishment on Eetu Luostarinen for diving.

However, after the game, which the Bruins won 2-1, sending the series back to Boston on Friday, Montgomery stunned with his explanation on why he was so frustrated behind his bench when the call was made during the contest.

“I just think in the league, in general, the embellishment is going up. Players are getting better and better at snapping their heads back. It’s making it harder on the refs.”

Not what we expected the coach to say since the officiating has been quite controversial from the start. However, Montgomery might have been thankful that Charlie McAvoy’s goal was upheld despite Florida head coach Paul Maurice challenging the call for goaltender interference on Danton Heinen. Ultimately, the goal stood and the Bruins held on.
Montgomery also commented on what he needs to show his players in order to get his team the success they’re looking for, which could be why he made the softer comment on the referees.

“My thoughts were to send the right message to the bench, no matter what happens,” Montgomery told reporters post-game.

“(Either) we gotta get one on the power play or let’s just keep playing, next play and next shift. It hasn’t been going our way. It was nice that one did.”

Recommended articles: