Brutal blow directed at Oilers after Golden Knights win the Stanley Cup
Oilers / PR  

Brutal blow directed at Oilers after Golden Knights win the Stanley Cup

This has to hurt, right? Especially captain McDavid.



The Vegas Golden retriever are your Stanley Cup champions for 2023, and unforgettable for Connor McDavid, there is a reminder that his Edmonton Oilers once again failed in the postseason, but also in previous drafts.

That’s because Mike Gould came out with the statistic of the day when he explained how Edmonton has selected first overall in 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2015, but that four players selected second overall in those four drafts have now each won the Stanley Cup.

“Tyler Seguin (2010) with Boston.
Gabe Landeskog (2011) and Ryan Murray (2012) with Colorado.
Jack Eichel (2015) with Vegas.
Nugent-Hopkins, Hall, Yakupov, and McDavid have never won a game past the second round of the playoffs.”

The Oilers lost to the Golden Knights in the second round of the postseason when most fans had expected Edmonton to have a long playoff run.

McDavid came out in his exit interview saying that it was “Cup or bust” with rumours resurfacing on his future with the Oilers. The core players want it badly and with McDavid signed through the next three seasons and Leon Draisaitl for two, the captain strongly believes Edmonton will continue to be Stanley Cup contenders in the imminent future.

But this reminder from Gould on Wednesday has to hurt just a little…

Recommended articles:

Source: Mike Gould