ESPN names its Player of the Year Award winner

And the award goes to…

Share on Facebook

Pittsburgh Penguins superstar Sidney Crosby beat out some tough competition to claim his eighth ESPY Award for Best NHL Player last night. Also up for the annual award were two of the NHL’s youngest and brightest stars Connor McDavid and Auston Matthews, as well as silky smooth Patrick Kane and Russian netminder Sergei Bobrovsky. In the end however it was Crosby taking home the hardware as the NHL’s best player.

Crosby also won the award in 2016, 2014, 2013, 2010, 2009, 2008 and 2007. This season, the choice was obvious. Crosby’s 44 goal and 89 point campaign was capped off with a second straight Stanley Cup championship and a Conn Smythe Trophy win as playoff MVP.

While Crosby was also up for the Best Male Athlete award, he lost out on that distinction to NBA MVP Russell Westbrook.