First 6 players for Canada’s Four Nations Face-Off roster revealed

First 6 players for Canada’s Four Nations Face-Off roster revealed

More details here:

Chris Gosselin

The Four Nations Face-Off is set for February 2025 and on Friday morning, Canada, Finland, Sweden and the United States announce the first six players who will play in the tournament.

When it comes to the Canadian roster, many fans had predicted that Pittsburgh Penguins captain Sidney Crosby and Colorado Avalanche superstar Nathan MacKinnon would be locks, along with teammate Cale Makar and Edmonton Oilers captain Connor McDavid.

Fans argued about the last two spots, and finally on Friday, it was determined that Boston Bruins’ Brad Marchand and Tampa Bay Lightning’s Brayden Point were the chosen one.

Here are all first six players selected by Canada for next year’s Four Nations Face-Off

- Connor McDavid
- Nathan MacKinnon
- Sidney Crosby
- Cale Makar
- Brad Marchand
- Brayden Point

Canada, the United States, Sweden and Finland will play in the tournament, scheduled for Feb. 12-20 at TD Garden in Boston and Bell Centre in Montreal.

Canada will play Sweden at Bell Centre on Feb. 12, the United States at Bell Centre on Feb. 15 and Finland at TD Garden on Feb. 17.  Lightning head coach Jon Cooper will lead Team Canada at the tournament.

The other six first players of the three remaining rosters were also to be revealed on Friday with Team Finland trusting Florida Panthers’ Aleksander Barkov, Nashville Predators goalie Juuse Saros , Dallas Stars defensemen Miro Heiskanen and Esa Lindell , and forwards Sebastian Aho (Carolina Hurricanes) and Mikko Rantanen (Avalanche) to get the job done.

Sweden went with Victor Hedman of the Tampa Bay Lightning and Erik Karlsson of the Pittsburgh Penguins, along with Panthers defenseman Gustav Forsling and forwards Filip Forsberg (Predators), William Nylander (Toronto Maple Leafs), and Mika Zibanejad (New York Rangers).

The United States have choses Matthew Tkachuk (Panthers), Auston Matthews (Maple Leafs), Jack Eichel (Vegas Golden Knights), Quinn Hughes (Vancouver Canucks), Adam Fox (Rangers) and Charlie McAvoy (Bruins). 

Let the games begin!

Source: NHL on X