NHL angers fans with update regarding 2018 Team Canada WJC scandal

The waiting game continues.



National Hockey League fans continue to wait on pins and needles for the identities of the five players who allegedly were part of the 2018 WJC sexual assault scandal, and the League has finally (sort of) issued a statement on the matter into the timeline. 

The Athletic's Katie Strang reached out to NHL Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly for more information on a timeline of more concrete information being released, and she did receive an answer - though it likely won't be very satisfactory. 

She wrote the following on social media: 

"In response to the question of whether the NHL will announce a resolution of the investigation into the WJC 2018 before the opening of NHL training camps, the NHL's Deputy Commissioner, Bill Daly, responded by email that he did not have 'any specific timetable to share at this time'."

To say that this answer isn't flying with the fans would be a bit of an understatement. 

"Translation: ' haven't forgotten about that yet? Darn.'" wrote one fan in response. 

Another fan had the following take: 

"'what we are attempting to do is wait this out until everyone loses interest. Then we won't have to do a goddamned thing". Just be honest, Bill.'" 

Continuing in the same vein, another fan had this to say: 

"What is possibly taking so long. Are they negotiating penalties & suspensions with legal reps of the players before the announcement? At this point London Police needs to announce the charges or no charges and we can all move on to next phase."

Needless to say, this is beginning to drag out longer than it feels like it should. The names of the players who are supposedly going to be facing hefty penalties in the form of suspension are already allegedly known to more than one hockey writer. And while the five players remain anonymous for now, the full 2018 WJC Team Canada roster was comprised of the following names: 

Forwards: Dillon Dubé, Jonah Gadjovich, Boris Katchouk, Maxime Comtois, Taylor Raddysh, Tyler Steenbergen, Drake Batherson, Michael McLeod, Brett Howden, Sam Steel, Alex Formenton, Jordan Kyrou, Robert Thomas

Defensemen: Jake Bean, Conor Timmins, Cal Foote, Cale Makar, Dante Fabbro, Kale Clague, Victor Mete

Goaltenders: Carter Hart, Colton Point 

Recommended articles:

Source: Twitter