NHL explains controversial call that took goal from Mikhail Sergachev

Did the Lightning get screwed here?

Michael W.

It doesn't seem to be the Tampa Bay Lightning's night in Sunrise.

Not only did they have a 1st period goal disallowed due to goaltender interference, but they also had the same fate befall them in the 2nd period that took away what would have been the game-tying goal from Mikhail Sergachev thanks to alleged interference from Anthony Cirelli. 

First, you be the judge: 

The NHL has offered the following explanation: 

"Video review confirmed Tampa Bay's Anthony Cirelli made incidental contact with goaltender Sergei Bobrovsky which impaired his ability to play his position prior to the goal. The decision was made in accordance with Rule 69.1, which states in part, 'Goals should be disallowed only if: (1) an attacking player, either by his positioning or by contact, impairs the goalkeeper's ability to move freely within his crease or defend his goal."

That's going to be little consolation for the Lightning, who are on the verge of a 2nd straight 1st round exit from the Stanley Cup Playoffs!

Recommended articles:

Source: Twitter