NHLPA reveals the teams participating in today's $200,000 “NHLPA Open” tournament.

Big money on the line.

Share on Facebook

It may not be everyone's cup of tea but thanks to some creativity and good will fans of the National Hockey League will get the chance to see some of the game's biggest stars compete in a tournament for a whopping $200,000. Last week we reported that the tournament, an online video game competition that will be played in popular video game Fortnite, would be taking place on Monday. It is the brainchild of Toronto Maple Leafs forward Zach Hyman and Colorado Avalanche forward J.T. Compher and will see a reported 80 NHL players competing for bragging rights, their shot at the prize pool, and of course the charitable organizations of their choice.

The event is being called the NHLPA Open and on Monday the NHLPA made an official announcement in which they revealed all of the teams that would be participating. The teams will be composed of 3 players and those players will represent a huge number of NHL cities in the tournament with one player on each squad being elected the captain. 

Here are the participants:

Anaheim: Captain Troy Terry with Max Jones and Josh Manson.

Arizona: Captain Clayton Keller with Conor Garland and Nick Schmaltz

Boston: Captain David Pastrnak with Jake Debrusk and Charlie McAvoy.

Calgary: Captain Johnny Gaudreau with Buddy Robinson and Andrew Mangiapane.

Carolina: Captain Brett Pesce with Sebastian Aho and Teuvo Teravainen.

Colorado: Captain J.T. Compher with Nathan MacKinnon and Matt Nieto

Columbus: Captain Zach Werenski with Emil Bemstrom and Eric Robinson

Dallas: Captain Jason Dickinson with Anthony Louis and Josh Melnick

Detroit: Captain Turner Elson with Adam Erne and Eric Tangradi

Edmonton: Kailer Yamamoto with Logan Day and Evan Bouchard

Florida: Captain Dom Toninato with Joel Lowry and Mason Marchment

Los Angeles: Captain Trevor Moore with Michael Amadio and Ben Hutton.

Minnesota: Captain J.T. Brown with Mat Robson and Victor Rask

Montreal: Captain Ryan Poehling with Cale Fleury and Jake Evans

Long Island: Captain Grant Hutton with Kieffer Bellows and Simon Holmstrom

Ottawa: Captain Thomas Chabot with Nick Paul and Chris Tierney

Philadelphia: Captain Travis Konecny with Joel Farabee and Connor Bunnaman

Pittsburgh: Captain Zach Aston Reese with Bryan Rust and Brian Dumoulin.

St. Louis: Captain Robert Thomas with Vince Dunn and Jordan Kyrou

Tampa Bay: Captain Scott Wedgewood with Carter Verhaeghe and Barclay Goodrow

Toronto: Captain Mitch Marner with Travis Dermott and Frederik Gauthier

Vegas: Captain Alex Tuch with William Karlsson and Nate Schmidt

Winnipeg: Captain Anthony Bitetto with Jack Roslovic and Connor Hellebuyck.

Additionally on top of these squads the tournament will also feature some wild card teams which will feature NHL players as well. Players like Alex and William Nylander, Cale Makar, Josh Ho-Sang and more.

You can watch the tournament today at, starting at 2 p.m. ET.