Raycroft, Koharski call out NHL over controversial goal in Game 3.
Was it good?
There has been a lot of talk surrounding a controversial moment during the second period of Game 3 between the Nashville Predators and Colorado Avalanche, a game that was contested on Saturday afternoon. Although it likely would not have mattered in the grand scheme of things given the final score, there has been some dispute surrounding a goal that was scored by Colorado Avalanche captain Gabriel Landeskog with roughly 6 minutes left to go in the period.
First let's take a look at the goal itself, and the subsequent challenge that would follow from the Predators:
As you can tell based on his comments during the live broadcast former National Hockey League referee Don Koharski was adamant that this goal would be called back for goaltender interference, feeling that Predators forward Mikael Granlund had clearly interfered with Avalanche goaltender Phillippe Francouz. He would double down on those statements during the NHL on TNT broadcast, once again expressing that he felt the goal should have been waived off.
"First and foremost the attacking player has to do everything he can to avoid making contact with the goaltender, and the goaltender is not fair game anywhere on the ice," said Koharski.
He went into a full breakdown which you can see here:
Former NHL goaltender Andrew Raycroft also objected to the goal, stating that the NHL needed a former goaltender in the situation room to make these types of calls.
The NHL however is not backing down and has released the following explanation for their decision, here it is unedited and in full:
Video review confirmed the actions of Nashville's Mikael Granlund caused Colorado's Artturi Lehkonen to contact Connor Ingram prior to Gabriel Landeskog's goal. The decision was made in accordance with Note 2 of Rule 38.11 (ii) which states, in part, that the goal should be allowed because "the attacking Player was pushed, shoved or fouled by the defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper."
Do you think the goal should have counted? Let us know your thoughts in the comments.
- Chris Gosselin
Huge development in Mark Giordano’s NHL career!
- NHL News
- 3 minutes read
- Trevor Connors
Matthew Tkachuk makes a stunning statement on the Oilers after Game 1
- NHL News
- 1 minute read
- Chris Gosselin
Emotional statement from Oilers’ Zach Hyman ahead of Game 1 of the Stanley Cup Final
- NHL News
- 3 minutes read