Red Wings announce their final roster cuts on Sunday night.

Red Wings announce their final roster cuts on Sunday night.

The Red Wings have finalized their roster for the start of the regular season, trimming it down to 23 players.

Jonathan Larivee

The Detroit Red Wings had until Monday at 5pm EST to announce their final roster, but they've taken care of business a little early.

In an announcement made via the team's official website, the Red Wings revealed their final round of cuts on Sunday night. With both training camp and the preseason now officially over and done with, the Red Wings have trimmed things down to a final roster of 23 players which will include 13 forwards, 7 defenseman and 3 goaltenders.

Unfortunately that also means that a number of players have been informed that they will not be remaining with the team once the regular season gets underway.

Cut from the roster on Sunday are forwards Jonatan Berggren, Cross Hanas and Elmer Soderblom, all of whom will be assigned to the American Hockey League's Grand Rapids Griffins. The Red wings have also sent defenseman Simon Edvinsson to join the Griffins along with the 3 aforementioned forwards. Forward Nate Danielson has also been sent down, although in his case he will return to the Western Hockey League's Brandon Wheat Kings.

The Red Wings have also cleared two additional roster spots by designating both Matt Luff and Carter Mazur as injured non-roster players.

This leaves the Red Wings with the following roster:

Robby Fabbri
Andrew Copp
Lucas Raymond
Klim Kostin
Michael Rasmussen
Christian Fischer
J.T. Compher
David Perron
Dylan Larkin
Daniel Sprong
Joe Veleno
Alex DeBrincat
Zach Aston-Reese

Olli Maatta
Justin Holl
Ben Chiarot
Shayne Gostisbehere
Jeff Petry
Moritz Seider
Jake Walman

Alex Lyon
Ville Husso
James Reimer