Rod Brind'Amour fined by the NHL after calling out officials for blown call in Game 1

Oof... that hurts the wallet.

Share on Facebook

UPDATE: An update to our earlier story below, Carolina Hurricanes head coach Rod Brind'Amour has been fined $25,000 for his harsh criticism of the NHL and its officiating earlier today.

Check it out:

The full story from earlier this afternoon below.

In case you missed it earlier today, the Boston Bruins managed to eke past the Carolina Hurricanes in Game 1 of their opening round Stanley Cup Playoff series, earning a 4-3 double OT victory.

After the game 'Canes head coach Rod Brind'Amour was absolutely incensed with the game's officiating and even went so far as to call the NHL a "joke" due to a botched coach's review on the Bruins' second goal.

For context, here's the play in question:

Brind'Amour argues that the goal should have never been allowed due to an illegal hand pass when Bruins forward Nick Ritchie knocked the puck out of midair. The refs ruled though that Mrazek had possession of the puck though by freezing it, negating the hand pass. But... how did Mrazek freeze the puck if the whistle never went? He either had possession and the whistle should have blown or he didn't and the call should be an illegal hand pass. Instead though, the referees offered no explanation and the goal was allowed to stand.

This is when Brind'Amour went off.

Check out these quotes from the fiery head coach courtesy of the Raleigh News and Observer's Luke Decock:

“This is why the league’s a joke, in my opinion, on these things,” Brind’Amour told The News & Observer. “That one is a crime scene.”

“They came to me, and I said, ‘If he has possession of it then it’s goalie interference. If he doesn’t have possession then it’s a hand pass. It’s one of the two. I don’t know what you’re calling on the ice,’” Brind’Amour said. “All he has to do is tell me. ‘We’re calling it nonpossession (by Mrazek),’ then we’re challenging a glove-hand pass. If it’s possession, then goaltender interference. I said, ‘Tell me the call on the ice.’ They wouldn’t do it when I say, ‘What is the call?’ So I had to flip a coin. ...

In effect the referees wouldn't give Brind'Amour the information he needed to decide whether to challenge for goalie interference or not.

“I said, ‘What was the call on the ice?’ and he said, ‘You’ve got to call one or the other.’ It should be so easy. If they said the goalie had it, then it’s an easy call. They wouldn’t tell you. It makes no sense. I know we weren’t the better team, but if that goal doesn’t go in, do we win that game? I don’t know.”

Officially, per the NHL: “Hurricanes goaltender Petr Mrazek controlled the puck prior to Charlie Coyle’s goal, which nullified the potential hand pass.”

For the full article from Decock, click below: