article

Rookie Svechnikov gets additional two-minute penalty from the penalty box!

Come on, kid. You can't do that!

Share on Facebook

We can forgive the kid, come on, he just started playing in the National Hockey League this season. However, can Andrei Svechnikov forgive himself after taking back to back penalties on Thursday night as his Carolina Hurricanes faced the Capitals in Washington? 

The young Canes rookie got a goaltending interference call against the Capitals in the second period and was looking to get out as soon as possible to give his teammates a hand on the ice. However, the 18-year-old extended his stay in the sin bin as he attempted to step out of the penalty box.

As Jakub Vrana tried to gather in a loose puck at the end of a Capitals power-play, the second overall pick of the 2018 NHL Draft played the puck while he was being freed from the Capital One Arena’s penalty box... 

What seems to be a creative and impressive play is in fact illegal... Come on, kid. You can't do that! 

According to section 56.2 of the NHL rulebook, this is interference.

A minor penalty shall be imposed on any identifiable player on the players’ bench or penalty bench who, by means of his stick or his body, interferes with the movements of the puck or any opponent on the ice during the progress of the play. In addition, should a player about to come onto the ice, play the puck while one or both skates are still on the players’ or penalty bench, a minor penalty for interference shall be assessed.

He ended up back in the penalty box! 

Svechnikov can, at least, tell himself he is not the only player to have pulled such an obscure move in Washington. During the 2016-17 season, Islanders forward Matthew Barzal did the same thing from the same spot in the sin bin...  

To make matters worse however, the Caps ended up on top, winning the contest 3-1 over the Hurricanes.