The three finalists for the Hart Trophy are revealed.


Share on Facebook

The NHL has announced the finalists for this year's most valuable player award, and needless to say, all three players are more than deserving of the honor.

The finalists for the Hart trophy for 2016 are Pittsburgh Penguins' forward Sidney Crosby, Dallas Stars' forward Jamie Benn and Chicago Blackhawks' forward Patrick Kane.

It will be Crosby's third opportunity to capture the Hart trophy after yet another stellar season. Crosby finished third in the League with 85 points in 80 games, including a League-best 58 points in 44 games after Jan. 1. He has previously won the Hart in 2007 and in 2014.

Benn appeared in all 82 games for the Stars and finished second in League scoring with 89 points. He also recorded 41 goals, the first Stars' player to top 40 goals since Mike Modano in 1993-94. Benn is also a finalist for the Ted Lindsay award this season.

Kane led the League with 106 points this season and finished second in goals with 46. He became the first American born player to capture the Art Ross Trophy and helped the Blackhawks to their eight straight postseason birth. His 26-game point streak between Oct. 17 and Dec. 13 set a Blackhawks record, was the longest by a U.S.-born player and the longest by any player since 1992-93. He is also a finalist for the Ted Lindsay award.

All of these star players make a great case for the award.