Things solidify for all-Canadian division in the NHL thanks to the NBA

Breaking news on Friday has affected the NHL’s plan to move forward with 4 divisions.

Share on Facebook

On Thursday, ESPN’s Greg Wyshynski revealed how the NHL’s divisional re-alignment could shake down for the upcoming 2020-21 season.

Canadian Division:

Calgary Flames, Edmonton Oilers, Montreal Canadiens, Ottawa Senators, Toronto Maple Leafs, Vancouver Canucks, Winnipeg Jets

Eastern Division:

Boston Bruins, Buffalo Sabres, Carolina Hurricanes, New Jersey Devils, New York Islanders, New York Rangers, Philadelphia Flyers, Washington Capitals

Central Division:

Chicago Blackhawks, Columbus Blue Jackets, Detroit Red Wings, Florida Panthers, Nashville Predators, Pittsburgh Penguins, St. Louis Blues, Tampa Bay Lightning

Western Division:

Anaheim Ducks, Arizona Coyotes, Colorado Avalanche, Dallas Stars, Los Angeles Kings, Minnesota Wild, San Jose Sharks, Vegas Golden Knights

While for now, insiders have been saying it could be the chosen format for the upcoming season, on Friday, something also set it in stone when the NBA announcing in breaking news fashion that the Raptors were denied request to play home games in Toronto and will begin season in Tampa. 

That prompted hockey pundits and reporters, like David Pagnotta of the Fourth Period, to be convinced that an all-Canadian division in the NHL would be the only option for the 2021 season. 

“That should just about solidify things for the Canadian division for the 20-21 NHL season!”

A decision on the format and schedule for the 2021 season needs to come soon, especially if the NHL is sticking to its January, 1st start date. 

The NBA’s breaking news announcement could be moving things along in the NHL.