article

Vegas' Gallant flips out at referees in the best way possible

He might be furious but he’s also hilarious!

Share on Facebook

The San Jose Sharks managed to stay alive last night in Game 5 of the first round series against the Golden Knights, however, Vegas head coach Gerard Gallant was not able to keep his cool. 

In the third period of the crucial contest, Jonathan Marchessault was sent to penalty box for a high stick penalty after hitting Logan Couture in the face. However, no penalty was initially called on the sequence, despite the fact that Couture has lost two of his teeth on the ice. 

The officials decided to take some time and  huddled together at centre ice  after Couture rushed to the dressing room holding his face. The penalty was called after their meeting. 

The Sharks then responded on a power play as Tomas Hertl capitalized when he knocked a rebound past star goalie Marc-Andre Fleury to make it 4-2. San Jose ensured the win with an empty-net goal. 

Gallant was not happy about it and responded to the officials’ work with the best sarcastic thumbs up. 

“When we are looking at the video and there’s no call made and then they huddle up at center ice and there’s a call out of it, you know. From what I saw I didn’t think there was much there for that reaction,” the bench boss said after the game. 

The Golden Knights still have the upper hand in this series, leading 3-2 and heading home for the crucial Game 6. The Sharks promised their fans they’d be back home for a do or die seventh contest, however, Gallant’s passion has now reached a peak. 

Watch out.